Going to See the King

ELVIS - 1957.jpg

When you grow up in the church, going to Sunday school and Vacation Bible School, you learn all of these church songs that seem to implant themselves in your brain for years to come. That’s usually not a bad thing, depending on the cheese factor of said songs. Being a musician, I have a tendency to think in song lyrics at times, and after 43 years, there are a whole lot of lyrics and songs stored in the neurons of my brain.

As I contemplated my visit to Graceland, I began to sing a song that I heard once upon a time:

“Soon and very soon, we are going to see the King,

Soon and very soon, we are going to see the King…..”

Of course, the song was referring to a different King, but I chuckled as I sang it in my head, with my family around me wondering what might be going through their crazy dad’s (husband’s) brain.

There’s something about going into someone’s house, being inside their domicile, standing, sitting, walking where they once did the same. You see what they saw every day, you step into their shoes, even for a brief, few moments. I wouldn’t go as far as to say that you become them, but you certainly see things in a different light.

As I think about the fact that Elvis and his family have their final resting place at Graceland, I think about others who have chosen to lay their final remains in the places that they love. Having just been to Lynchburg in the last few months, I think about Jerry Falwell choosing to be buried on the grounds of Liberty University, the school which he founded and built from the ground up.

I guess is comes back to legacy, what are we leaving behind? Why do people choose to be buried in the places they loved most while they were alive? It’s not like they’re still enjoying it, right?

Today, we’re going to see the place “where the king slept,” and I’m pretty sure that we’re going to find out that Elvis has left the building. I’ll see what thoughts occur to me as I walk the place where the King walked, step where he stepped, and get a window into his perspective, even if it’s for just a few short hours.

Leave a Reply

