The Adventure Begins

griswoldsFive people. One mini-van. Over 3000 miles. Over a dozen states. Three and a half weeks. That’s the adventure.

In some denominations, it’s traditional for pastors to be given a three month sabbatical every seven years. Having been in my current context for nearly nine years and having experienced significant transitions in life and ministry over those past nine years, the leadership of my church graciously recommended a three month sabbatical for me and my family.

Over the past two months, I’ve visited other communities of faith, spent some significant time with others in ministry, attended some training to become a Strengths Communicator, read, written, and rested. I’ve traveled to Minnnesota, Connecticut, North Carolina, and now, the adventure begins with my family.

Road trips were my vacations as a kid. We didn’t go on any expensive vacations to exotic locations, my parents just couldn’t afford it. We went to Disney here and there, but for the most part, we just traveled up and down the east coast. Growing up, we had relatives in Florida, Georgia, and South Carolina. We would take trips during the summer to spend time with these family members and although I don’t recall any big expensive experiences that we had, I have vivid memories of all the things we DID do.

Now, my family and I are in the midst of our own road trip and adventure, traveling across the United States, seeing what we can see, connecting with old friends from days gone by, and making memories as we go. The final destination: Los Angeles. After that, we head back home in a roundabout way.

As we’ve planned for this trip, I’ve smiled at how everyone has an opinion of what we should see. Others give us that look that says, “Are you crazy?” One high school friend of mine even claimed that the idea of being stuck together for three weeks in a mini-van was her idea of hell.

Regardless of how crazy we are or how many landmarks, parks, and other things that we DON’T see, we’re still going to have a blast. I expect that we’ll miss some things. There will be arguments along the way. There will be times when we’ll probably want to kill each other, but at the end of the day, there will be stories.

We’ve already started to create our own stories and I can’t wait to see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

