Tired

Reading about the senseless loss of another few lives of black men is growing old for me. I’m tired. I’m tired of the hurt that it causes my black brothers and sisters. I’m tired of the fear that it creates in them and their children. I’m tired of the excuses that pour from both sides once the shots have been fired. I’m just tired of it.

I’m not naïve enough to think that these men who were victims of the latest supposed police brutality shootings were completely innocent. They had to have done something to have gotten them to the place that they were at, but was it really to a place where an irreversible decision needed to be made, one that would change the course of lives for two families?

I’m also not naïve enough to think that the media gets it completely right here. It’s got to be a little unnerving to be a police officer and always be questioning your next move. Who will be filming you with their cell phone? How can the context of the situation be adequately portrayed in a few minutes of shaky video from a cell phone?

Something is wrong and I’m tired of it. There are no excuses. If people are apprehended by police officers, regardless of their race or color, they need to do what they are asked to do. If police find themselves facing suspects who don’t immediately comply, they need to escalate the situation according to their protocols. Somehow or another, there has to be some kind of intervention here. It’s got to stop……NOW!

I hate that I read headlines like those of the last few days and simply move on to the next thing. I hate that they have become so commonplace to me that I’m feeling desensitized to them. I hate that I look like an apathetic jerk because I feel like I’ve read the same story over and over again. I hate that I have friends who are full of anger, full of hurt, and full of fear, for themselves and for the people they love.

Yes, black lives matter. That’s not an overstatement when you look at the headlines that we find ourselves continually facing day after day. Something’s got to give.

I am a white man and I am sorry. I am a white man and I don’t fully understand. I am a white man and I’ve not done everything that I can do to make a difference. I am a white man and my heart is breaking because violence has shown once again that it is the easy way out of conflict.

Our country might think that they’ve come a long way in the area of race relations just because the 1960s are behind us and because the North won the Civil War, but we’ve still got a long way to go. Martin Luther King, Jr. didn’t do all that he did so that we can still be facing these headlines nearly 50 years later.

I’m tired. Are you?

2 thoughts on “Tired

    • One step at a time, one person at a time. We can’t do it alone, nor can we do it overnight. May God have mercy on us and may we turn towards Him for what we need.

Leave a Reply

