So Long, 2014

2015 new years illustration with christmas ballsOh, I remember the days when I would stay up well past midnight on New Year’s Eve. Maybe I’d watch the ball drop in Times Square (on TV, never in person), but it was mostly about spending time with friends and family. It’s amazing how things change though when you’ve had a family of your own.

I honestly don’t remember the last time that I even saw midnight on New Year’s Eve. New Year’s Day is generally a day full of traveling for our family, so staying up late isn’t the most ideal situation going into a big travel day.

As I was thinking and reflecting on 2014, I was reminded of that song that Boyz II Men popularized, “It’s So Hard to Say Good bye to Yesterday.” I started wondering if that was really true, whether it was that hard to say good bye to days gone by. My conclusion really yielded mixed results.

As a friend likes to say, there is only one today, we won’t have the chance to relive it, so we had better make the most of it. That point seems to become more realistic as I grow older. When you see friends, loved ones, and even complete strangers facing the end of their lives, it has a way of bringing things into perspective.

I’ve never been a big one for New Year’s resolutions. Maybe it’s that I consider myself too realistic to think that we’ll all be as thoroughly engaged in those resolutions on June 1st as we are on January 1st. Maybe I like to try to work on self-betterment all year long. Regardless of the reason, I’ve just not been a big fan of them.

If I’m completely honest with myself, I’ve made mistakes over the course of 2014. I probably spent time on things that weren’t incredibly important, spent money on things that were even less important, said things which could have been left unsaid, and neglected to say things that should have been a priority. The thing is, I don’t think it took me getting to New Year’s Eve to come to those conclusions. In fact, I came to those conclusions the moment that I became aware of them.

So, as I look towards 2015 and all that it will hold for me, I just want to remember the things that are important. I want to be moving in a forward direction, the spiritual process that theologians call “sanctification.” I want to continue to echo John the Baptist’s words, “less of me, more of Christ.”

That being said, here’s a list of things that I want to do better in 2015:

Love better, judge less.

Give more, take less.

Compare myself less to others and more to Jesus.

Let my wishlists be populated more with things for others than things for myself.

Make time for a game, a hug, a sunset, a rainbow, or a sunrise.

Abandon the complex to find beauty in the simple.

Say “I love you” more with the things that I do than simply with my words.

Sure, there are probably about a thousand things that I could put on here, but this is the start of what I want to do.

Here’s to 2014, to all that we’ve learned, all that we’ve lost, and all the ways that we lived in it.

Here’s to 2015, to all that we will learn, to limiting our losses, and living life with limited regrets.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

