Whatever You Ask?

What would you do if someone came to you and offered you anything you wanted? Imagine yourself as Aladdin, rubbing the magic lamp and having a genie emerge. Out of everything that’s possible in the world, what would you choose? Would your choice be different depending on when in life this opportunity was given to you?

Well, this actually happened to a king that lived a long time ago. Solomon was King David’s son and the next in line for the throne of Israel and Judah. He was given the opportunity to ask for anything that he wanted when God spoke to him in a dream.

Solomon’s response is pretty fantastic, at least it is to me. He could have asked for anything and this is his response, “Now, Lord my God, you have made your servant king in place of my father David. But I am only a little child and do not know how to carry out my duties. Your servant is here among the people you have chosen, a great people, too numerous to count or number. So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. For who is able to govern this great people of yours?” (1 Kings 3:7-9)

Solomon knows that he can have whatever he wants and he chooses to have a discerning heart. He understands the task set before him and the potential difficulties in that and asks for the very thing that can help him out. He doesn’t ask for riches or power or fame or any other selfish desires, he asks for wisdom. So God grants him wisdom and along with that, he grants him all of the other things that he never asked for.

I think about the many times that I have been offered something, the many times that I have been given a gift and I wonder what my initial reaction is in how to use that gift. Do I want to use it and spread it around? Do I want to keep it to myself?

More often than not, if I’m really honest, if someone gives me a gift, I want to be selfish, I want to keep it all for me. God has been changing my heart to help me realize how much better it is when I take a gift and share it around. Instead of me being the only beneficiary of that gift, I can let others in on the benefits. How cool is that?

I’m not sure that I would have had the same response as Solomon if this opportunity were placed in my lap, even at this point in my life. I hope and pray that my heart is changing and that if given this opportunity, I would choose the gift that would benefit the most number of people.

How about you? What would you do? How would you react if given this same opportunity? Would you use it for yourself or would you use it so that the greatest number of people would benefit?

Leave a Reply

