A Chance to Learn

Writers, no matter who they are, will find themselves scrapping things that they write.  My computer is littered with many posts that never quite made it onto my blog, for some reason or another.  It may have been that my timing was off and it just wasn’t the right time to post something.  Or it could have been that the topic was too controversial and I wasn’t sure that I was ready to dive into the possible misunderstandings that would inevitably result from people reading their own preconceived notions into my writing.  It also could have been that I just haven’t felt that what I have written is on par with other things that I have written.  All this to say that my “Draft” folder continues to get larger as time goes by.

I began a post for today in light of it being St. Patrick’s Day, but I scrapped it.  I have been reading articles in the media about the withdrawal of support and sponsorship of certain companies for the St. Patrick’s Day parade because of issues with the LGBT community.  The LGBT community is not allowed to “march openly” in the parade and so, some companies have decided to withdraw their support for the event.  The presumption is that by not being allowed to “march openly” the rights of the LGBT community are being infringed upon and the organizers of the parade are showing a lack of support for this community.

As I began to spin my own thoughts and opinions on this, I realized that I was having a hard time understanding what the phrase “march openly” means.  While I may think I understand what it means, I can’t presume that I can read the mind of everyone who holds an opinion.  I fear that I might be missing something because of my own perceptions and biases.  So, I would love to hear from others on what they think this phrase means.  In hearing the opinions of others, my hope is to be enlightened myself.  This is an experiment in sharing opinions and I also don’t presume that everyone will share openly in the comment space.  If you don’t feel comfortable posting in the comment space, feel free to send an email to coarpk@gmail.com.

I’ve got a lot to learn, to think otherwise is pure ignorance.  I hope that hearing from people might help me in that process of learning and growing.  If I hear from enough people, I hope to do a follow up post to share what I have learned through all of the insight.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

One thought on “A Chance to Learn

Leave a Reply

