An Anniversary In Heaven

tony and irene wedding46 years ago today, my parents were married.  They had met a little less than a year before, on January 23, 1967 at a roller skating rink with a church group.  They were engaged on July 4, 1967, and then on January 13, 1968, they were married.  This is their first anniversary together in heaven.

The road to my parents’ marriage was not an easy one.  Both of them had difficulties during their years of growing up.  Abusive or alcoholic parents.  Poverty.  There were certainly more difficult upbringings than they had, but there were simpler ones as well.

My grandma, my dad’s mom wasn’t fond of my mom.  He was the youngest, the baby, and it was probably difficult for her to find anyone who could meet her standards.  My dad was thrown out of the house for dating my mom.  He lived at the seminary.  My mom typed his seminary papers.  They persevered.

In Matthew 22:30 Jesus says, “At the resurrection people will neither marry nor be given in marriage; they will be like the angels in heaven.”  While there isn’t a need for marriage in heaven (the bride and Bridegroom will be together), that doesn’t necessarily mean that we won’t know each other as we did on earth.  Our celebrations will be different there, they will center around the ultimate wedding feast.

So, there’s really no need for them to celebrate their marriage to each other, just their marriage to the Bridegroom, Jesus Christ, but it’s a celebration.

Not a day goes by that I don’t think about them or miss them.  Today, I celebrate them together.  There is sadness for me, but not for them.  There is loss for me, but not for them.

Happy anniversary, Mom and Dad.  I hope you’re celebrating well.  Thanks for finding each other, because you did, I’m here.  I miss you and love you.  I’ll see you again someday…..

Leave a Reply

