My 2014 Reading Plan

reading listI’ve decided to take a more structured approach to reading in my life.  At any given time, I generally have a “To Read” pile that reaches from floor to ceiling.  It gets a bit overwhelming, so I decided that I would to my best to come up with a reading list for this coming year.  It’s not exhaustive, but I am hoping to keep track of my reading a little bit more this year and do what I can to post what I’ve learned and what I’m learning as I read through these books.

I’m doing my best to try to add some fiction here and there, but I haven’t done a good job with that.  These are listed in alphabetical order, not necessarily the order that I plan to read them in.  There are a little more than 30 books here, which would average to a book every week to a week and a half.  Hoping that this approach will help me a little bit more and I will try to post updates as I go.

So, wish me the best and I’ll keep you updated.

Randy Alcorn “Safely Home”

Dietrich Bonhoeffer “The Cost of Discipleship”

Dietrich Bonhoeffer “Letters and Papers From Prison”

Dietrich Bonhoeffer “Life Together”

Francis Chan “Multiply”

Matt Chandler, Josh Patterson, and Eric Geiger “Creature of the Word”

Matt Chandler with Jared Wilson “The Explicit Gospel”

Wayne Cordeiro with Francis Chan & Larry Osborne “Sifted”

Malcolm Gladwell “David and Goliath”

Ed Gungor “What Bothers Me Most About Christianity”

Christopher Hitchens “God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything”

Peter Hitchens “The Rage Against God”

Howard V. and Edna H. Hong, editors “The Essential Kierkegaard”

Stephen King “11/22/63”

David Kinnaman “You Lost Me.”

C.S. Lewis “Mere Christianity”

C.S. Lewis The Space Trilogy

Bret Lott, editor “Eyes To See: A Collection of Enduring Stories That Challenge and Inspire”

Martin Luther “The Bondage of the Will”

Brennan Manning “All Is Grace”

Eric Metaxas “Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy”

Eric Metaxas “Amazing Grace”

Stephen Miller “Worship Leaders, We Are Not Rock Stars”

Jürgen Moltmann “The Crucified God”

Jürgen Moltmann “A Broad Place”

H. Richard Niebuhr “Christ & Culture”

Flannery O’Connor “The Complete Stories”

Jay Pathak & Dave Runyon “The Art of Neighboring”

David Platt “Follow Me”

Soong-Chan Rah “The Next Evangelicalism: Freeing the Church From Western Cultural Captivity”

Alan J. Roxburgh “Missional: Joining God In the Neighborhood”

Francis Schaeffer “True Spirituality”

Leonard Sweet “I Am A Follower”

5 thoughts on “My 2014 Reading Plan

  1. Cool! Thanks for this list! I was just in the gym wondering where I should check out some more titles – I have All In underway now and then Kisses for Katie…after that …?? I love Safely Home – Avery recommended it to me last year. Thanks again!

    Meredith Hayes, CID, ASID, REALTOR ® 804.347.0499 Reflections Interior Design and Homes http://Www.reflectionsinteriordesign.com http://Www.kw.com

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. You have all of these? Need to borrow any? Here’s what I have from your list.

    Dietrich Bonhoeffer The Cost of Discipleship Dietrich Bonhoeffer Letters and Papers From Prison (pretty sure I have this know I have the other 2) Dietrich Bonhoeffer Life Together C.S. Lewis Mere Christianity C.S. Lewis The Space Trilogy Flannery OConnor The Complete Stories (also got a related FC item for Christmas) Francis Schaeffer True Spirituality ( have lots of his stuff ever read Art and the Bible?)

  3. Thanks for sharing your list Jon. There are some tough ones on there. I hope we see you surfacing for air once-in-a-while. 🙂 I always crave the tough reads, but by the time I have time to read at the end of the day, I’m usually so tired that I end up opting for lighter fare. What is your secret/method to succeeding at it?

  4. Sharon, I am still learning. When I am at my best, I generally have 2 or 3 books going at once. In order to maintain my own sanity, I need to mix it up, sometimes lighter fare with the heavier fare to bring some balance. This will be a good experiment for me though. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

