Germs

GERMSWhen my wife was pregnant with our first child, there were a lot of things that I needed to get ready to face for the first time.  I knew that sleep deprivation would be high on the list, not by choice, but just because of this little creature that we were bringing into our home.  I knew that I would never look at poop and throw up the same way anymore as well.  Once you have to deal with poop on a regular basis, multiple times per day, it just doesn’t have the same impact on you that it once had.  Same thing with spit up/throw up/vomit.

I had heard most of this from people who had gone through the process before me, and I tended to listen to them.  Your whole world changes and you rarely  look back or wonder what it was like before these little pooping, peeing, throwing up little creatures came from.  Your heart is so full that it’s hard to replace that feeling with the smells, the sounds, and the lack of sleep that you experience.

And in the midst of all of those other setbacks, there is still one big thing that kids bring with them that I’m not sure anyone really warned me about, at least not until I had them and they had grown for a few years.  What?  Germs!

Yup, kids are just natural germ carriers.  They hide them everywhere.

 

Under their tongues.

 

In their ears.

 

Under their fingernails.

 

In their hair.

 

On their shoes.

 

In their clothes.

 

And they never cover their mouths when they sneeze.  And they use anything at all as a tissue when their nose runs.  And the germs spread EVERYWHERE!!

Yes, kids are little carriers of germs, those microscopic things that eventually lead to our demise.  Amazing how such small things can lead to such misery.

Yet, would we change it?  Would we exchange those germs and miss the smiles, the laughs, the joys, the pride, the adventure, that we get when we enter into this journey with these little creatures?

 

I don’t think so, but I’m going to have to keep reminding myself of that while I’m getting over the very thing that those germs caused.

Leave a Reply

