Dancing With a Princess

I have a two year old princess.IMG_4140

After my second son was born, I had resigned myself to the fact that I would never have a daughter.  I had dreamed of having a daughter for most of my life.  I never really told anyone that was my dream….if you talk of your dreams, they won’t come true, right?  I would welcome whatever child God brought me, but inside, I was wishing for a girl.

I love my boys with all of my heart and I have a special connection with both of them, but there’s just something about a dad and his little girl that is incomparable to any other relationship in the world.  No matter how old she gets, she will still be my little girl, my little princess, my Cinderella.

Whenever I can, I try to seize moments that are in front of me.  It’s too easy to let them slip by and then lose the opportunities, so I do my best to grab them when I can.  That’s just what I did the other day.

I was working from home, sitting at my computer, and thinking about the new Steven Curtis Chapman album that had come out.  It reminded me of a song that he had written called “Cinderella.”  The song is the story of him watching his little girl grow up, progressing through until the day that she gets engaged and married.  The song came out long before I had a daughter (4 years to be precise).

At that moment, I stopped what I was doing and grabbed my daughter.  I looked at her and told her that we were going to dance.  She seemed reluctant, probably not realizing that US dancing meant ME swinging her around in my arms.  I turned on the song and we began to dance, swinging and spinning all around the room.

As I listened to the words of the song, singing along, I was overcome by the emotion of the moment.  Right before my eyes, my daughter will grow up.  Will I capture the moments that can easily pass me by?  If I don’t, everything will be just a flicker, a fleeting moment, a blip in time.

We danced all around the room and we both laughed.  She, unlike me, was not overcome by emotion.  I held my little girl tighter as the power of the lyrics seized me in that moment.  I didn’t want to let her go.  I wanted to freeze that moment forever, indelibly marking it upon my brain, never to be erased.

Every birthday party, every tea party, every tear shed, every skinned knee, every important event in her life will be before my eyes in ONE MOMENT……and then they will be gone.

Sure, it makes me sad to think about that, but I would rather think about seizing those moments, grabbing a hold, and making memories as best that I can.  I want my daughter to know how important that she is to me, how precious she is in my sight, and how to expect to be treated by the man that God brings her way someday.

In those moments, I danced with Cinderella, and we had fun.  I can’t wait to do it again, and I know it will be sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

