Fear and Trepidation

mischievous childThe day is finally here.  I’ve known that it was coming for months, but in the back of my mind, I always thought that it might not happen.  It always seems that there might be a way to avoid the unavoidable, to stop the unstoppable, to prolong the unprolongable, and to somehow deny the undeniable.  But, alas, the day finally comes….

And it is here…..

The day that I will watch my children for

Four

Whole

Days!!!!!

I’m not sure my wife fully understood the ramifications of this when she decided to make this trip for a girls’ weekend.  I mean, how much damage can really be done in just four short days?  We’ve said that before about presidential terms, and those last four years, so we should obviously not overly concern ourselves with mere days…….should we?

How long does it take for cavities to form?  How much can a diaper REALLY hold?  Does Child Protective Services work on weekends?  At what age do children REALLY start to smell from lack of hygiene?  Do I remember where I put my duct tape?

Yes, the day is here, the children are in my hands and we will hope that by the end, as the saying goes, the lunatics won’t be running the asylum.  Of course, that presumes that there might be some amount of sanity on my part…….fairly optimistic presumption.

Lists have been made.  Bags have been packed.  Instructions have been given.  Clothes have been laid out.  We can do this.  I can do this.  Like the little engine that could, I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.

Friends are on standby.  Phones are fully charged.  We’re about as prepared as we could possibly be.

So, away we go.  My only goals are fairly modest, at least I think that they are.

  1. Keep the children alive.
  2. Create memories that will last a lifetime.

If I can accomplish those two goals, I think that I will be successful.  If you’re not the praying type, I suggest that you become the praying type……..like, NOW!

3 thoughts on “Fear and Trepidation

Leave a Reply

