Better Together

better togetherWe weren’t made to be alone.  No, I’m not saying that to promote the end of singleness.  I’m saying it because we are relational creatures, made in the image of God to be with one another.  The moment that we begin to sequester ourselves from others is the minute that we not only begin to set ourselves up for a fall, but also when we live out of sequence with the intention of the One who created us.

You can learn an awful lot by watching your kids.  My 2 oldest kids are only 23 months apart from each other.  While we have had our fair share of challenging days, we’ve also begun to see the benefits of the natural relationship that forms over time with the two of them.

While my wife was putting our youngest to bed on an evening when I had a meeting, she left the 2 older children downstairs to occupy themselves quietly.  After successfully getting the youngest one to sleep, my wife returned downstairs to find that the oldest had chosen a movie, loaded it into the DVD player, set everything up, and even brought his brother a snack for the movie-watching experience.  What a pleasant surprise takes place when your kids are actually learning some of the things that you have been trying to teach them all along.

When I made an anniversary for my wife for our 10th anniversary video, I used Jack Johnson’s song “Better Together” as one of the background songs.  Over the course of 10 years, my wife and I were constantly reminded that we do things better together.  We get more done cooperatively and we have fun in the process, especially if it’s a task that we’re not necessarily crazy about doing on our own.

We weren’t made to be alone.  The wisest man in the world understood this when he wrote in Ecclesiastes, “Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up.  But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up.  Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.  But how can one keep warm alone?  Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves.  A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”

We can find countless stories within Scripture of what happens to people when they spend too much time alone (the story of David and Bathsheba comes to mind).  I’m not recommending that all of the introverts of the world rebel against their natural tendencies to be reserved and quiet, but I am recommending that we come to the realization that we need each other.  We need support.  We need encouragement.  We need prayer.  We need loving arms.  We need sturdy shoulders.  We need each other.

We are a gift to each other, given by God not to selfishly consume, but to lovingly and graciously give.  That’s what Jesus did.  I can’t imagine the number of times that he would probably have liked to tell the disciples to just leave him alone so that he could have a few moments of peace, but instead, he loved them and gave himself to them.  What am I doing to give of myself to others?  My children?  My wife?  My friends?  The people who need me most?  What am I doing to live out the truth that we are better together?

Leave a Reply

